Walking in Chicago

I’ve got a long commute between work and home; it’s an hour on Chicago’s public transportation. So you’d think I’d be eager to jump on the train and get on with it at the end of the day. But yesterday I realized something: usually, I stall. I work in the Loop, and I love walking the streets of Chicago. I’ve lived here 17 years now, but I still have a tourist-like awe for the life of its streets.

So rather than hop on the train fast each night, I tend to wander. I walk State Street, or maybe Michigan Avenue, and just watch the people, buildings, the park. I love it.

When I was in college I was lucky enough to spend a summer working in Paris for a woman named Heather. She once said to me, before leaving for a short vacation, that her favorite part of any vacation was returning to Paris. Just seeing the city gave her a jolt every time. I hoped I’d find that one day, and now, I have. Like a tourist seeing it anew, I love Chicago. I’ll be writing about why on this blog.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

