Yes, I Made a Spreadsheet

This schedule notes when everything should be planted, and what I'll plant from seed vs. seedling

 

Gardening is overwhelming for a newbie. I’m determined to plant a full crop of veggies, but it’s my first shot. So I did the only thing I knew to do to get myself organized: I made a spreadsheet. So there it is.

Actually, the first thing I did was make a whole planting plan at gardeners.com. Then I consulted my friend John, who has a few years of square foot gardening under his belt. Then, I futzed with my plan for a few more days, and ultimately, settled on seeds. I picked some seeds up at Gethsemane, a local garden shop, and ordered the rest from Baker Creek, whose catalog is stunning, for the record.

So: with a garden plan, and packets of seeds, and my two handy garden reference books: I boiled it all down to a planting schedule spreadsheet. If you’re in Chicago, this may actually come in handy. In hopes that someone else can take advantage of my obsession, here it is. The following link offers a pdf of the spreadsheet above.

GardenPlan2010

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 responses to “Yes, I Made a Spreadsheet

  1. Hi Leah,
    This spreadsheet came just in the nick of time! I’m in Chicago (Wicker Park/Bucktown), read the SFG book yesterday and made our 4X8 box today. Was hard finding enough Vermiculite in town, but finally tracked it down. Am planning now what to put into the squares. This is SO helpful! How is the garden coming?

  2. The garden is great! We’ve been eating arugula and lettuce, and everything else is sprouting up. So glad the spreadsheet helped you! On the vermicultite front, Anton’s in Evanston was my source… might come in handy for your next year. Good luck with your garden!

  3. Thank you so much for this spreadsheet. I live in a southwest suburb, so our microclimates might be a little different, but I’m sure the overall dates are the same. This really helps.

Leave a Reply

