The Garden Plan II

This is the second of my two square foot gardens, which I'll build & plant this year.

 

The truth about my backyard is simple: it’s not glamorous. When we first moved into our place, we had a yard. It didn’t have any flowers, bushes, or plants. In fact, it didn’t even have grass. It did, however, have lots of crabgrass. Oh, and a fence that the previous owners’ Pit Bulls had gnawed through. There was that.     

In any event, in the four years that we’ve lived in our place, we’ve done lots of work… but you can’t necessarily tell. Unless, of course, you knew it when the previous owners were here.     

This is a long way of getting to my point: my yard still isn’t lovely. Or even actually pretty. But here’s what we do have: a yard. And full sun. And too much concrete. But square foot gardening is helping me in this regard: I can build a raised bed over my hideous sidewalk, next to my unnecessarily large garage. So there you have it. While I look forward to a day when I can talk about the aesthetics of my back yard, right now, I’m hoping I can get it to offer a crop, and maybe, just maybe, look okay-ish. That’s where I am now. 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 responses to “The Garden Plan II

  1. You deserve credit for good planning. I hope you have the best vegetable garden in the neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

